illustration: The Clock Tower

Posted on

Hello! I have completed Nanaowrimo. I made it through. I didn’t reach the official word count of 50,000, but I did finish the story I was working on…sort of.

I wrote my first scenes in a rush, which means I skipped over important details. I’ll fix them later. Basically what I ended up with is a word painting composed of really broad strokes.

Anyway, this isn’t the writing blog (which is here now). This is the art blog! Let’s see what we’ve got.

The Clock Tower

clock tower mini for blog

I wasn’t overly enthusiastic with how this turned out. I may give it another go later, using this as the rough. I would move the deer back, farther toward the tower, definitely.

The illustrations will come slowly for a while. I have too much book art to work on at the moment. Two covers and I’m also considering creating some character concept sketches for the next release.

I’ve been thinking about which is more important to me – writing or drawing. I wouldn’t want to give up either of them.

However, all the business with nano and putting some other book notes together has made me realize that I care more about writing. I enjoy the process more. I think about it more often, even when I should be thinking about other things. I fall in love with the characters (good and bad) and places.

I will continue to draw. As long as I can hold a pencil, I will keep on, but the illustrations will be fewer and far between for a while.

3 thoughts on “illustration: The Clock Tower

    kristentarzwell said:
    January 16, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    I like it, I think the detail is amazing! I love the clock tower :)

      RLDraws responded:
      January 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm

      Thank you! it was a giant pain. : )

    reversecommuter said:
    January 17, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Great drawing – you have a gift!
    Thank you for the like & the visit – much appreciated!
    xo reversecommuter

Leave a Reply

